Prayer about Sanctification

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.                   -2 Corinthians 5:17

Father, I woke up today wondering whether the Holy Spirit is working. There are many godly men and women that I look up to that are growing in their holiness. It seems like they really get the gospel. I thought i understood the gospel, but i don’t see the changes or fruit in my life that can be compared to these other brothers and sisters that i respect so much. There is still much pride, lust, envy, judgmental thoughts, anxiety, addictions, joylessness, hate, insecurity, fear of people, lovelessness, arrogance, apathy, and etc. that still exists inside my heart. All this makes me wonder whether i will ever become the man you want me to be.
But then, you revealed in your words this passage of hope. You tell me that I already am a new creation. How could this be? I mean, there’s so many issues that i have to deal with in myself. As i began asking that question, You made me look at the source of what makes me this new creation. It’s all because of Your Son Jesus Christ, who You “made to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” (2 Cor. 5:21).
Jesus thank you for dying on the cross. It’s because of your death and resurrection that i can still tell people that I am a New Creation.  That even though my past sins may still affect me now, I have a savior who says that this is not how it will always be. The more that i look to You, the less I think about my shortcomings. The more I look at Your work, the less significant my work becomes. And because of that I find myself becoming more of the man that i thought i would never become.
Father, help me constantly look to your son everyday as a reminder of what Christ has accomplished on the cross for me. For there will be a day where forcing myself to think about Jesus will end, because I’ll be with him in the heavens and new earth. But until that day comes, keep my eyes focused on The Gospel.
In Jesus name I pray,
Amen
This entry was posted in By Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

