Suffering

I’ve been reflecting on last week’s sermon (mark 14:32-42) and have come to the conclusion that there is no way that I can really relate the cosmic level of suffering that Jesus went through. Even if my life got to the point where I would emotionally feel and verbally want to say “My soul is very sorrowful, even to death.” (Mark 14:34), it can’t be anything close to what Jesus was experiencing. Two things come to mind: 1) ultimate rejection and 2) hell.

Now i have relationships where i love the people that i talk to – hopefully that love is reciprocated. In these relationships, i believe there is a genuine sense of care and fellowship. But I can’t imagine one of my good friends rejecting me and saying, “I never knew you.” Jesus had the perfect fellowship with His Father and at the cross His Father was breaking that perfect relationship by saying “I don’t know you.” Now only that, but he was going to face the eternal judgment of hell. The only reason why i can’t really imagine the suffering of Christ is because i can’t really imagine hell too well other than the caricatures that are already out there. But I can imagine that it’s worse that the sufferings that any man has faced in this world. Why else would Jesus lose all composure in being shaken to the fear of death?

 

This entry was posted in By Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

