I am Weak

But he said to me,  “My grace is sufficient for you, for  my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that  the power of Christ may rest upon me.

2 corinthians 12:9

Isn’t it ironic that the Apostle Paul would actually boast about his weakness? Out of all his qualifications as an Apostle, the only aspect of his life that he would actually play up is his weakness. A lot of us love this verse, but at the same time hate it. We love it when we’re actually in a situation with our lives where we know that we feel overwhelmed and can actually admit our weakness. On the other hand, we hate this verse when everything is going well, but there’s that little mishap that comes along that makes us boil inside making us think to ourselves, “how can this be happening? everything has been going so well. I planned everything well, I studied so hard. I made so much money. I etc.”

Truth is we are weak. Even our strengths show our weaknesses in sin. That’s why Paul understood that in weakness, he is strong. Because if you never admit your weakness, then it means you never admit your need for grace. This is something we need daily. Not something we need when we happen to mess up really bad once in a while.

This entry was posted in By Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

